top of page

Blog

The Difference A Little Bit Of Compassion and Kindness Can Make

We forget how much a simple act of kindness can make in one person's day and how it can have a cascading affect in more ways than we can ever imagine.

A simple every day experience today reminded me of that.

Recently the simple act of travelling in a vehicle or going anywhere where there is specific noises has became a bit of a challenge. Extreme noise sensitivity triggers off, violent jerking movements and muscle spasms and at times non epileptic seizures and loss of balance. But trying to remain as independent as I can, I recently visited a local shop on my own. But the beeps from the tills began to trigger jerking, twitching and muscle spams, greeted by a rather over the top reaction from a nervous fearful shop assistant who was clearly concerned for my welfare. That was fine, but she made such a drama, my own feelings of self consciousness was triggered.

I am not going to lie, my confidence had took a dip lately, we all want to be normal and accepted, we all want to be able to trust and feel as if we have some control of our bodily functions but that isn't always the case. Fortunately I have been blessed with a good strong mental resilience and similar related life experiences experiences that it didn't take a hold. But it did slightly dent my confidence and had me more than a little cautious about going into the public and this small tesco again.

A few other attempts to shop were ok, but it was clear most of the assistants felt uncomfortable but this was more than compensated by two occasions, the second one today. One young man who completely lifted my spirits and gave me a deep sense of trust. This smiling compassionate young man with a strength and wisdom made a firm confident connection. Despite my jerking, he took my bag, filled it and simply treated me with the same assurance and confidence as any other customer he served. He gave me a wee bit more practical support but on observation he demonstrated the same warm genuine kindness and compassion to every customer he met.

And little did he know how much he helped lift my spirit, my self confidence, restoring a bit of trust and compassion, that its all okay, I'm okay, we are all okay and its all fine.

It can be so easy when life doesn't go they way we planned, we worked for, dedicated our life for, to loose trust. But there is always a bigger picture at play but just remember how much a little bit of kindness and compassion can truly make someones day.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
  • Google+ - Grey Circle
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page